ISO 9001:2000 Gap Analysis Approach

M

Mannu Thareja

Hi,

I am new to ISO 9001:2000.

My organisation is going for ISO 9001:2000 certification. I was going through the training material on ISO 9001:2000.

I have a few questions:

1. What could be the approach to do a ISO 9001:2000 Gap Analysis for an organisation?

2. How to perform a Gap Analysis for ISO 9001:2000? Do we go by the clauses? or do we go by the departments/ Process Areas?

3. If we have to do a Gap Analysis of an Outsourcing/ Vendor management department, How can we go about it? What can be the clauses we can look for?

Look forward for the reply.

Thanking you very much.

Regards,
Mannu

P

pldey42

Hi Mannu,

Here are some suggestions. (There is no one-size-fits-all way.)

My organisation is going for ISO 9001:2000 certification. I was going through the training material on ISO 9001:2000.

I have a few questions:

1. What could be the approach to do a ISO 9001:2000 Gap Analysis for an organisation?

1. Assess the gap "on paper' between your written processes and the ISO 9001 requirements.

2. Assess the gap between your written processes and what you actually do.

3. Plan to close the gaps by prioritising those that will bring most benefit to your business performance and giving them most effort and attention: aim to sail way over the bar rather than merely to comply, using ISO 9001 certification to propel your business forward. Then it will become a return-on-investment project, not just a "cost of doing business", and it will be easier to sustain management commitment when the going gets tough.

2. How to perform a Gap Analysis for ISO 9001:2000? Do we go by the clauses? or do we go by the departments/ Process Areas?