PPAP vs. Annual layout confusion - Customer "emergency PPAP" request

M

Mark Paul

I am a relatively new Qual Tech for a tier 1 supplier of small internal drivetrain do-dads to OEM's and their sub's e.g. GKN (whew!). It seems that every possible supplier is coming out of the woodwork asking for level 3#'s. :confused: Yet they don't want the sample parts, they just want my 24 pages of fresh data.
(BTW I have found that Most QE's are reading my doc's because they tell me how page 7 doesn't jibe with page16)

I understand that the customer is always right but shouldn't PPAP's be used for what their name sake is? Or print changes?

Why do so many large companies (DANA and GKN not exclusive) insist on "emergency PPAP's" because they have an audit coming up? Is it their paranoia? Beyond the customer always being right, are their any guidelines for people such as myself to go to a 1 million pc. volume/year cust. and suggest they just go with a warrant, MSA, 32 piece special characteristics check and a material cert?

When one is truly swamped, how best might one handle the situation?:nopity:

Thanks

Howard Atkins

Forum Administrator
Leader
Admin
schmudy said:
I am a relatively new Qual Tech for a tier 1 supplier of small internal drivetrain do-dads to OEM's and their sub's e.g. GKN (whew!). It seems that every possible supplier is coming out of the woodwork asking for level 3#'s. :confused: Yet they don't want the sample parts, they just want my 24 pages of fresh data.
(BTW I have found that Most QE's are reading my doc's because they tell me how page 7 doesn't jibe with page16)

I understand that the customer is always right but shouldn't PPAP's be used for what their name sake is? Or print changes?