QS-9000/TE manuals

T

Tina W

I've been asked to lead our company into QS-9000/TE by the end of the year. I have no experience in this. Does any one have any suggestions on where to start or who I can contact for more information. We are a tool and die manufacturer in southern Ontario if that helps. Thank you in advance.

TinaW

R

Randy Stewart

Are you starting from scratch or are you moving from ISO? If you could add a little more info I think with the people here we can give you a hand.
:bigwave:

T

Tina W

I have been asked to implement QS-9000 and/or TE. We are a medium size tool and die manufacture. We have some procedures in place but the majority are verbal controls. I've read both manuals now and I don't know where to begin. I am getting each department to write down their procedure in point form. We run with limited management and their jobs over lap all the time. I've tried to define responsibilities and asked them to review the part of the manuals that would apply to them.
However in the manuals I don't know how to apply them to our circumstances. For example: QS-9000, Process Monitoring and Operator Instructions 4.9.1, states "The supplier shall prepare documented process monitoring and operator instructions for all employees having responsibilities for operation of processes. These instructions shall be accessible at the work station." First of all our employees are all skilled trades men and every single block, which we use, goes directly into the quality of our product, which is our dies. If I were to ask them monitor each process we wouldn't have time to build our product. Second every operation we do is unique to that particular block so writing operator instructions is impossible. This is only the start of our problems understand how these manual apply to us.