For GR&R (Gage R&R), is multiple testing of the same sample necessary?

B

Browncoatb

Hi, i'm trying to do some GR+R on two tests we currently perform, one on mon/wed/fri and the other on tue/thur. My question arrises because for the tue/thur test, half of the actual test takes 3 1/2 to 4 hours to complete. Im not sure because im an engineering intern, and this is the first time i've actually used any of the statistics i learned in class,

thank you much

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
Re: For GR&R, is multiple testing of the same sample necessary?

Hi, i'm trying to do some GR+R on two tests we currently perform, one on mon/wed/fri and the other on tue/thur. My question arrises because for the tue/thur test, half of the actual test takes 3 1/2 to 4 hours to complete. Im not sure because im an engineering intern, and this is the first time i've actually used any of the statistics i learned in class,

thank you much

Welcome to the Cove. :bigwave:

What kind of testing is this? Why do you feel that GR&R (as opposed to some other form of analysis) is necessary or might be helpful?

B

Browncoatb

I'm actually not sure at all, i need to find a way to see how effective, and/or accurate our current testing procedure is, and in passing my boss mentioned the GR+R so im looking into that first. The only problem is that currently, we dont perform any multiples of tests, only one test on one sample taken either M/W/F or T/Th

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin

I'm actually not sure at all, i need to find a way to see how effective, and/or accurate our current testing procedure is, and in passing my boss mentioned the GR+R so im looking into that first. The only problem is that currently, we dont perform any multiples of tests, only one test on one sample taken either M/W/F or T/Th

What type of testing? What's the manufacturing process?

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator

can you test the thing more than once?

B

Browncoatb