Is it correct to have a detection (error proofing) in subsequent operation?

Jsalazarv30

Registered
Hello

i'm new in this FMEA world and i am reading and watching videos to get more knowledge also i took some courses but i still have lots to learn. I know here there are many experts and i woud appreciate a lot your help in this doubt i have.

Checking a pfmea i noticed that in one operation we have 100% visual detection for an omission part, but in the next station we have a vision camera for that omission... as far as i know, we should have the error proofing where the failure mode can occur, thats my first doubt, the second one is the next:
we have like this the fmea

St FM FE FC PREVENTION DETECTION
10 Omission of bushing .......... .......... .......................... Visual by operator
Vision camera (St 20)

Installation Spring omission ....... .. ....... . . ..................... Vision camera
of other components
My concern is if we should put in the st 10 the error proofing of the st 20, or only the one that we have there (Visual by operator)?

Jimmy123

Involved In Discussions
In St20 for me it’s not clear, if the camera checks existence of the bushing too a second time? The description in the FMEA should be always detailed, that others understood the process too.
Ask the team: 5 W's and H Questions
WHY is this inspection necessary, can it be remove by a prevention?
WHAT characteristic, cause or failure mode have to be check by the inspection?
HOW does the inspection work (conditions of the inspection, capability, 100% or sample check only, operator self check or from a independent person,…’ and what is the reaction in case of a failure (bad parts handling, re-adjustment machine, …)?

Sometimes a good visual inspection is better as a bad camera vision system?

Last edited:

Sebastian

Trusted Information Resource
First, setting sampling frequency within PFMEA is useless.
Look at detection rating table, frequency has no impact on rating.