Not a Calibration Expert but questioning in-house calibration method.

MarcoSimone

Registered
So, I'm new to a small machining company and we do in-house calibration for common handheld and bench/surface plate top measuring devices. (Micrometers, Calipers, Drop Indicators, Height Stands, Bore Gages,...etc)

When I look at our calibration database records, I see all of our in-house calibration results are just deviations & not actual results to the various standards used.
(Nearly all results in database are 0.000, 0.0000, +0.0001, -0.0001, .... and always within tolerance range) Plus the results recorded for any gage calibration is just one result for the entire calibration of that gage at that period. I have serious concerns whether or not we are doing calibration correctly at all as it seems too simplistic.
I'd expect multiple deviation results from the various size masters measured. Some of these gages can be used in multiple manners, ID, OD, Depth, Step..... Yet, there is only one result recorded.

Looking at our calibration instructions for various devices they states to take verify measurements at various increments across the range of the gage. (0.100, 0.500 1.000, 3.000, 5.000, 7.000 & 7.950). So I'd expect there to be seven results recorded in the database for that device calibration. Yet, only one deviation result recorded of 0.0000 recorded & calibration result Pass. Our company is ISO 9001 registered and apparently these calibration methods are acceptable & has passed their audits.