AS9100D clause 8.6 - Documentation required to show evidence of conformity

perezf

Registered
Good morning everyone.

I currently work as a Quality Engineer in a manufacturing business (build-to-print) of aerospace parts certified to AS9100D (excluding design). We supply to both military and civil programs. The topic I am bringing up today is regarding clause 8.6 of AS9100D.

8.6 Release of Products and Services
The organization shall implement planned arrangements, at appropriate stages, to verify that the product and service requirements have been met.
The release of products and services to the customer shall not proceed until the planned arrangements have been
satisfactorily completed, unless otherwise approved by a relevant authority and, as applicable, by the customer.
The organization shall retain documented information on the release of products and services. The documented information shall include:

a. evidence of conformity with the acceptance criteria;
b. traceability to the person(s) authorizing the release.

When required to demonstrate product qualification, the organization shall ensure that retained documented information provides evidence that the products and services meet the defined requirements.
The organization shall ensure that all documented information required to accompany the products and services are present at delivery.

My organization performs final inspection of the parts, but no test reports are compiled or retained to evidence conformity with the design data (unless inspection is performed with a CMM machine, in which case the CMM report is retained electronically for each part inspected). For parts that can be qualified using less sophisticated methods such as the use of a micrometre, vernier, thread gauges, etc. all we produce is a certificate of conformity making a statement that the parts comply with the applicable drawing and/or specifications and the individual authorising the release.