Bringing Simple Calibrations Back In-House

C

carolk79

Hello,

I have been working in ISO for only about 2 years now and I need a little help. This is really kind of simple but I want to make sure I do it right. Here's the situation. We have been ISO certified for about 4 years. We have always done our calibation out of house and I would like to bring it in house.
This may be very difficult in some factories but in we only calibrate tape measures and rulers.

Now can we just use say a 5 foot hard metal ruler and get that calibrated out of house and traceible to NIST and then calibrate the tape measures off of that ruler????

That was my thought but I don't know anyone who does it so I really don't know if it is legal through ISO.

Please help me with this.

Thanks Carol

C

cochranemurray

Simple calibration

Hello.
We bought a calibrated steel rule which was already certificated. It was designated "Master" and is not used for day to day measuring. All other tapes and rules are checked using this one and a "calibrated" sticker attached. We also have an inventory of calibrated tapes. Our procedure states that calibration check will be carried out on receipt of new tapes. Thereafter, metal tapes should not need rechecked if they are kept in reasonable working conditions as they will not shrink or expand. It is encumbent on the equipment holder to ensure that it has a calibration sticker, it is not damaged and the scales are readable before use. This check is signed for on our batch paperwork. No complaints from auditors so far.
Regards :)

Hershal

Metrologist-Auditor
Trusted Information Resource
Interms of the TAR (Test Accuracy Ratio), yes the metal ruler is more accurate.....

But the first question is, why calibrate a ruler or measuring tape?

C

carolk79