PPAP Submission Package - Tier II supplier to a Tier I

J

JaySturgeon

I was wondering how some of you handle the documents that will typically not be in your submission package; i.e. Design FMEA (which I never get from my customers). We are tier II supplier to tier I. It has been suggested to have a seperate page for each item, stating that it does not apply for this specific PPAP pachage.

All suggestions are welcome.

Thanks

:bonk:

B

Bob_M

Limited Knowledge but here's my $0.02

Although I have limited experience and knowledge and were not exactly within the OFFICIAL Big 3 Tier system we do provide PPAPs.

If our customer did not supply us with a Design FEMA or Engineering Change documents or any other documents the CUSTOMER creates, I simply don't include it because I don't have it.

Also if they did not supply us with their PPAP documents/forms we use our own. Works so far.

If I had to guess, I/we are probably suppose to ASK for the missing documents. Seems silly. Why would the customer want a copy of their own document BACK if they did not give it to us in the first place.

Just my $0.02 worth.

Later
Bob M

Howard Atkins

Forum Administrator
Leader
Admin
Re: PPAP Submission Package

JaySturgeon said:

I was wondering how some of you handle the documents that will typically not be in your submission package; i.e. Design FMEA (which I never get from my customers). We are tier II supplier to tier I. It has been suggested to have a seperate page for each item, stating that it does not apply for this specific PPAP pachage.

All suggestions are welcome.

Thanks

:bonk:
I have seen this option and IMHO it is not the best way to go.
If you do not havedesign responsibility you do not need to provide DFMEA.
I have found that the best way is to contact your customer and agree with him on the contents of the submission. This way there are no surprisies or returns for lack of information.
You give him the choice and he than has to abide by it.

J

JaySturgeon